Select Page

Junior Secondary – Rules 2017

Waikato Junior Secondary Schools  – Water Polo Competition 2017

This event will be run during the third and forth school terms. Games will be played Monday evening between 5:30pm and 9pm at Water World in Hamilton.

Every player in a team must be registered as a student at the School they are representing, at the time of the match being played. The only exception is where Waikato Water Polo Inc (WWP) have officially placed players in another school’s team. This will only occur for players who are registered at a Waikato School that has not entered a team. Waikato Water Polo will decide where it is best to place that player based on a number of criteria.

If a player from another school approaches a school to play in their team; that player must be referred to WWP. WWP will attempt to place this player into an appropriate team.

Approved composite teams can win the championships.

A maximum of 13 players may play for the team in any one game with 7 players including the goal keeper in the pool at one time. If a team has fewer than 6 players at the start of a game, they will lose by default. There is no maximum limit to the number of players who may play for a team over the course of the competition.

Each team is required to register via the WWP website prior to the commencement of the competition ( If changes are subsequently made to the team, then WWP must be informed prior to the start of the round. All changes are to be e-mailed to zn.oc1524385199.olop1524385199retaw1524385199otaki1524385199aw@sn1524385199oitit1524385199epmoc1524385199 Failure to do this may result in a loss of points.

All teams must arrive at least 15 minutes prior to the start of their game.

All teams are required to confirm the team list on the score sheet at least 10 minutes prior to the start of their game.

Prior to the start of the finals series, teams have to submit the team list for the finals series. No changes to the teams are allowed during the finals series.

On the draw, a school or schools will be named as the duty team for each evening. The duty team must provide at least 5 people for duty. These people must be available 15 minutes prior to the commencement of the first game, and to help put things away after the last game. The duty team will perform goal judging and table secretary duties throughout the evening. Points will be deducted for unsatisfactory execution of duty team duties.

No player may wear: shorts, jewellery, watches etc. while playing. Girls are to wear a one piece swim suit and boys speedo type togs. All players must have their fingernails and toenails clipped as short as possible while playing.

NEW 2017 – Players are not to wear Waikato Representative togs as their main togs – where 2 pairs of togs are worn, Waikato Representative togs may be worn underneath if required, but must not be worn as the outer layer.

All players, officials and spectators must abide by the rules and instructions of Te Rapa Water World.

Points will be awarded in the Championships as follows:
• Win 3 points
• Draw 1 point
• Loss 0 points

The championship will be conducted in accordance with the rules of FINA and the New Zealand Water Polo Association.

The the event of tied points after the round robin series, the following applies

If two teams finish on equal points the following applies
1/ Result of game between drawn teams, if still a draw then:
2/ Results against top team, team with closest score ranks higher
3/ If still a draw then overall points differential.
4/ If still a draw then toss of coin


Duration of games will be four periods of time as follows:

• Four quarters of 6:00 minutes with running clock and a 30 second shot clock
• 1 minute between 1st and 3rd quarter
• 2 minutes half time
• WWP reserves the right to alter game times to meet Te Rapa Water World’s operational requirements

All teams must have a non-participating adult on the bench for the duration of the game.

All disputes and protests must be in writing to the WWP Secretary ( zn.oc1524385199.olop1524385199retaw1524385199otaki1524385199aw@yr1524385199aterc1524385199es1524385199) within 24 hours of the completion of the game.

The disputes committee shall comprise of members of the Waikato Waterpolo Competitions  Committee and either the Chair or the Secretary.

All refereeing decisions will stand, and no matches will be replayed, either in whole or part.

All players are reminded to respect the referees and their decisions, and to adhere to the general rules of fair play.

Players can only play for one team in the same division.

Players can play between Boys/Mixed A & B divisions as long as the following requirements are complied with:

1. A player can only play for one team in Boys A & B division in any one round. (Round complete once all teams have played in that round)
2. If a player is swapping between teams the team official needs to inform Waikato Waterpolo by email zn.oc1524385199.olop1524385199retaw1524385199otaki1524385199aw@sn1524385199oitit1524385199epmoc1524385199 24 hours before the start of the round.
3. If a team defaults its match and subsequently a scratch team or sufficient ring ins are provided by Waikato Waterpolo to top up the defaulting team and allow a friendly game to proceed in the allocated game slot, Rules 1&2 will not apply and those players will be able to subsequently play for their normal team without penalty.
4. Failure to do this will result in loss of points.